Bringing Wellness Full Circle

Vegetable Stock

When I last visited my son and his wife, they served us an incredibly delicious home made tomato soup with focaccia bread for lunch. In the course of our conversation, I found out that they made the vegetable stock from scratch. This really intrigued me! So I followed their tips and worked on my own recipe. They were right: it’s easy, delicious, and it makes you feel like the pioneer woman. Besides, you get to use up all your scraps. And it’s cheap! So you really should try it too. You might get hooked. I make it every week now.

Keep your vegetable scraps in a large freezer bag or container in the freezer throughout the week. I put onion peel, carrot stubs and peel, pepper seeds, potato skins, garlic skin and whatever else I use that particular week. When the bag is full, it’s time to make the stock.

In my crockpot, I pour about 1 tablespoon of olive oil. Then, I add the vegetable scraps, salt, pepper and dried herbs (or frozen) to taste.

 

 

photo 1 (6)

I fill the crockpot with water, cover it and turn it on low. Then I go to bed. And when I wake up, the house smells absolutely scrumptous. Pour the contents of the crockpot through a fine seave and there you have it!

photo 2 (3)

I keep the stock in jars in my refrigerator, or I freeze it.

photo 4

So simple, isn’t it? And the taste changes every week, but it’s always wonderful.

Comments on: "Vegetable Stock" (3)

  1. I need to do this. I just think the homemade stock is so much better than anything you can buy. Great idea and post!

  2. I have tried making my own several times and it’s just so bland. I’m inspired to give it another shot, though!

  3. Thanks for sharing your post at the HomeAcre Hop.
    I haven’t tried veggie stock before. This looks easy, will have to try.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

