Bringing Wellness Full Circle

DIY Deodorant Paste

I started out making my own deodorant spray with essential oils and FCO (fractionated coconut oil), and I thought this was the coolest thing. It felt great, kept me from stinking and smelled lovely. I loved it. But eventually, I started to notice how it kind of stained my clothes a bit–not from the essential oils, but the coconut oil. Not cool at all. Plus, to be honest, as much as I liked the spray, I was used to a stick deodorant, and I liked that feeling better. So I researched how to make paste deodorant, and here is what I came up with. Let me tell you first hand that it is ridiculously inexpensive to make (just like the DIY dishwashing cubes) and I love, love, love how it feels. Keeps me from stinking (and if you know how much I work out, that is a definite important factor!), and I think it feels like silk–perfect! I think I am in love.

DIY Deodorant Paste

You will need baking soda, cornstarch or arrowroot powder, coconut oil and essential oils, that’s it!

ingredients

Here are the quantities I used for a small jar of deodorant paste:

1/4 cup baking soda
1/4 cup cornstarch or arrowroot powder
5-6 Tablespoons coconut oil

Pure CPTG doTerra Essential oils: Frankincense for sure (you want some of that next to your lymph nodes!), Lavender for the skin and fragrance and Melaleuca to keep everything clean.

I mixed the first three ingredients in a bowl until I had a smooth paste.

paste

Next, I mixed in 5 drops of each of the three essential oils. Lastly, I transferred the paste to a glass container with a lid.

photo (61)

How simple is that?

Here are a few observations:

  • coconut oil changes texture when the temperature is above 76 degrees, so sometimes your paste might be softer and more liquid. I don’t mind at all. If you do, store in a cool dark place, or even your refrigerator. res above 76 degrees**. Store in a cool dark place and it should be ok. Or, you can store in the fridge for a nice cool cream.
  •  Just put some on your fingers and rub it in.
  • You could experiment with different essential oils. Some people use Lemongrass against odor, and Lime to wake you up in the morning. I myself am very happy with my combination of lavender, melaleuca and frankincense.

 

Linking up with Take it on Tuesday


Comments on: "DIY Deodorant Paste" (10)

  1. I am so interested in trying this! I have tried some of the all natural ones on the store shelves and was not happy with them! Can’t wait!

  2. I am slowly working on making more homemade items for our home. One day I’ll get to deodorant! Thanks for sharing with us over at the Homeacre Hop! Please join us again soon!
    Mary 🙂
    http://www.homegrownonthehill.blogspot.com

  3. […] DIY Deodorant Paste (barbsfitublog.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] cried with a friend who lost her baby, realized that the baby wasn’t lost but safe with God, made and started to use my own deodorant and love it, made and started to use my own dishwashing cubes, twisted my ankle, read a book in […]

  5. […] am continuing to experiment with DIY stuff. Some things work out wonderful, like my deodorant paste which I absolutely love. Others not so […]

  6. […] DIY Deodorant Paste (barbsfitublog.wordpress.com) […]

  7. […] home without them! I am convinced that they are God’s provision for us. I use them to make deodorant, healing salve, and lots of other DIY body and cleaning products. Every one is talking about them […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

