Bringing Wellness Full Circle

Dishwashing Cubes

I love, love, love the healing salve I make with essential oils.  It meets so many needs, and does it so well. So I got bolder and decided to try some new DIY essential oils products. Why not? Why would I pay good money for products full of chemicals that actually harm me when I can make an all-natural version? I mean, I am not that stupid!

So I have been working on a deodorant; the recipe will come soon. But today, I want to share my cool DIY dishwashing cubes. They are inexpensive and ridiculously easy to make, and they do the job perfectly; what’s not to like?

You will need:

2 ice cube tray

1 cup Borax

1 cup Washing Soda

1/4 cup Epson Salt

4 Tbs Lemon Juice–perfect sanitizer and it smells good too!

12 drops of doTerra Melaleuca Essential Oil  -perfect disinfectant!

photo (8)

Here is what you do:

1. Put all dry ingredients in a bowl and mix.

2. Add lemon juice-the mixture will fizz a bit. It should be moist, but not too wet. If necessary, add just a bit of juice.

3. Add 12 drops of doTerra melaleuca essential oil. Mix well.

photo (10)

4.  Put the mixture in the ice cube trays, patting it down firmly. I wound up with 24 cubes.

photo (7)

5. Put the ice cube trays somewhere where they can dry well; maybe in front of a window?

6. Wait until completely dry, 24 to 48 hours. Take the cubes out the the ice cube trays.

photo

7. You are done!

Pretty cool, isn’t it?

Linking up with Wildcrafting Wednesdays.

Comments on: "Dishwashing Cubes" (10)

  1. That is pretty cool! I’m visiting today from the Harvest of Friends hop.

  2. Visiting and reading from @1caseycolette: Locomotion of Expressions!~

  3. Pinned this recipe so I can try it soon. Thanks!

  4. Love it! What a great idea. I am always looking for great DIY recipes for cleaning products. I have recently found one for dishwashers but not cubed. I will definitely give it a try. I’m dropping by today from the Harvest of Friends Hop. Hope you can stop by for a visit.

  5. Love it I’ll try anything that’s chemical free visiting from Harvest of Friends hop

  6. Very cool! I’m pinning this for later 🙂

  7. Cool! I will have to give these a try. Thanks for sharing this at the HomeAcre Hop! We’d love to have you back again tomorrow morning: http://wp.me/p2urYY-13p

  8. Nice – great recipe. Thanks for linking up at Romance on a dime!!

  9. […] up with. Let me tell you first hand that it is ridiculously inexpensive to make (just like the DIY dishwashing cubes) and I love, love, love how it feels. Keeps me from stinking (and if you know how much I work out, […]

  10. […] safe with God, made and started to use my own deodorant and love it, made and started to use my own dishwashing cubes, twisted my ankle, read a book in four days because it was a kindle loan and I only had seven days, […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

