Bringing Wellness Full Circle

Molasses Power Bars

I kept seeing protein bar recipes all over the place, and I kept thinking that I should try to make one. Do I just did. And I love it! I don’t really have a name for it, so feel free to re-name it! I made it with molasses because I love that strong taste, but if you don’t, substitute molasses for honey–same texture, different taste! And then, different name as well!

Molasses (or Honey) Power Bars

1 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats

1 1/2 cups almonds, ground up in processor (still a bit chunky)

1/2 cup good quality vanilla protein powder

1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut (I bet you could replace this with raisins, chocolate chips… you name it!)

1/2 cup molasses, or honey

1/2 cup water

Mix all ingredients together to form a sticky dough.

photo

Add more water if necessary.  Put in 9×9 pan coated with nonstick spray. Refrigerate. When a bit hardened, cut into squares and store in refrigerator. 

photo (1)

Comments on: "Molasses Power Bars" (7)

  1. Do you have the nutrition info? I’m looking at this on my phone so maybe I’m just missing it.

  2. I love these quick snacks. I make a similar recipe and eat them for breakfast quite often. I’ll have to give your recipe a try. So many of the granola bars on the market are loaded with all kinds of junk. It’s nice to have a healthy alternative.

  3. Love power bars! My husband takes them to work to nibble on, so he’d love these! Thank you so much for linking up with me this week at Tasty Tuesdays! I’ve pinned this & shared it with my followers! If you’re looking for a way to increase your Facebook followers, come join my Facebook linky this weekend! Here’s the link: http://anyonitanibbles.blogspot.co.uk/2013/06/albumen-powder-macarons-facebook-like-hike-4.html

  4. Your Molasses power bars look delicious as well as nutritious! I’ve shared them on the Hearth and Soul Pinterest Board 🙂

  5. Looks great! Thanks for sharing this on The HomeAcre Hop! Hope to see you again tomorrow at:
    http://www.theselfsufficienthomeacre.com/2013/06/the-homeacre-hop-23.html

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

