Bringing Wellness Full Circle

You Ugly Fat Cow

Many, many women spend most of their waking hours thinking about dieting. Or losing weight. Thinking about basically trimming fat off of their bodies so they can be more pleased with the reflection in the mirror. Or healthier.

Many, many men spend most of their waking hours thinking about sex and how good they might look to prospective girlfriends/wife. Thinking about what to do to tone up, bulk up, firm up so they can be more macho. Or healthier.

So we work out and we pay attention to what we eat and don’t eat. And most of us don’t get permanent results if all we are doing is move more and eat better. Because it’s all backwards.

Because Life happens from the inside out.

But interestingly enough, we want the out before we get the in. We are so backwards sometimes. Investing into changing our minds, nourishing them, cherishing them, changing them, stirring them up a bit seems lame. Too labor intensive. Stupid.

Yet come to think of it, controlling and growing our thoughts in the right direction is truly the first pillar of change. Because we won’t ever live above our thoughts. And this is the one pillar that will cause all other pillars to be strong. And only when this pillar is well established can we actually change the shape and health of our bodies. Because everything in life starts and happens from the inside out.  

In my career as a personal trainer, I once had a lovely client who saw herself as an “ugly fat cow.” Every time she would see herself in my wall-to-wall mirror, she would point her chin to the mirror and say, “you ugly fat cow!” Probably three times a session. Or maybe more.

You ugly fat cow.

You ugly fat cow.

You ugly fat cow.

She said it, she believed it, she was it in her own mind. And you know what? As long as that is where her mind was, her body never changed. No matter how hard she worked. No matter how little she ate. Nothing changed.

You ugly fat cow.

As I gained her confidence, I began to talk to her about her thoughts and her speech. Eventually, we got to the place where she was forbidden to say “you ugly fat cow.”

And then she began to believe me.

She changed her mind about herself. She changed her thoughts.

And her body changed.

Comments on: "You Ugly Fat Cow" (10)

  1. I LOVE the insight that you bring to weight loss! I have been many various sizes in my life and not happy with any of them! In hindsight, I have learned that it isn’t my size…its how I feel and what I do with my innerbeauty that matters. Size 6-10-16…whatever (yes, I have been all of these)- I tossed the scale and focused on eating RIGHT not eating to loose weight. I feel 20,000 times better now than ever – even thought I am not a size 6!

  2. Wonderful post, so true, we create our own narratives in our mind and I believe our body follows.

  3. Just stopping by from the Aloha Friday blog hop!!

  4. This makes me so sad that the woman did that to herself, although I suspect this is an example of why we all need to be better about being positive about ourselves.

    FYI: I’m visiting from the blog hop. 🙂

  5. Hi, i feel the same way your client does. My health has deteriorated and exercise is so difficult. I have gained 60 plus pounds in the past 10 years. I really need to find how to take weight off when I am sick with pain and anemic too. I just don’t know wha to do about my weight other than starve myself sometimes. I can’t loose it because i can’t exercise hard enough to get my heart rate up; so, the only alternative is not to eat? Sorry to unload, but this post struck a big chord with me.

    • Not eating surely won’t do it, Mary… it is the one step at a time choices that life is made up of, isn’t it? So frustrating sometimes. Even if your exercise doesn’t get your heart rate up, it all adds up. One tiny step at a time. You will also feel better about yourself. May God open your eyes to how lovely you indeed are.

  6. Its soo true, you are what you think just like you are what you eat. So you definitely have to change your thinking. Its a must!! Thank you for this post.

  7. Thanks for linking up at Friendship Friday. I appreciate your support and look forward to developing a real online friendship. Please come again. Your post is very inspiring. Positive thinking is very important!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

