Bringing Wellness Full Circle

Breakfast Cookie

I love breakfast. But I don’t love bread for breakfast, and I like eggs for lunch so I don’t want them in the morning. And I have a very low tolerance to boredome… all of that to say that I forever am inventing new breakfasts! My Pumpkin Goodness Muffin in a Cup was probably my best invention thus far. Well, maybe. I also really really liked my Apple Pancakes, but those take a bit of time.

So here is my newest invention; I am pretty pleased with it. No white flour, no white sugar, full of good fats, good protein and just enough sweetness to make you smile.

Barb’s Breakfast Cookie

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/2 cup almond butter

2 eggs

2 T coconut flour

1/2 cup fat free ricotta (I bet yogurt or cottage cheese would work as well)

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp baking soda

2 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup xylitol (or honey, or maple syrup; I used xylitol)

1/2 to 2 cups of add-ins: I used 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flakes, 1/8 cup chia seeds. You can use any seeds, raisins, chocolate chips… the sky is the limit here!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Spray cookie sheet with non stick spray. Mix all ingredients in a large bowl.

photo (1)

Drop 1/4 cups full of dough unto cookie sheet. Bake for 20 minutes.

photo

My batch made 15 large cookies. Each one was 90 calories and every single one of them was worth it! I actually ate 2 and a half!

7.3 g fat, 3.6 g carbs, 2.5 g protein and  1 g fiber.

Comments on: "Breakfast Cookie" (7)

  1. Quaker Oaks has a high fiber breakfast cookie I like but it is hard to find around my house. I will have to take a look at your recipe.

  2. barbbaran said:

    This looks good. I am always looking for something “portable” for breakfast. It is not overloaded with fiber to the point you will feel bloated. Sounds just right! I think I will give it a try. Thanks!

  3. Hey, the looks delicious. And I love that they have honey in them. It just always gives me a little get up and go in the morning.

    Heidi’s Wanderings

  4. Oh yum! What a great healthy breakfast on the go!

    I am going to pin this…
    Wishing you a superb Tuesday… 🙂

    hugs x
    Crystelle

    Crystelle Boutique

  5. What a deliciously wholesome breakfast cookie. I like the addition of the ricotta cheese, they must be wonderfully moist. Thank you for sharing this recipe with the Hearth and Soul hop.

  6. This sounds pretty good.Thanks for linking up at Romance on a dime!!

  7. […] High in fiber and vitamins; tropical fruits (bananas, pineapples, mango etc.) are high on the glycemic index, so […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

