Bringing Wellness Full Circle

Homemade

When the kids were little, we made butter by shaking the cream in a jar for forever. It was hard work, but so much fun at the same time. And we used to make our own bread. Now, I make my own yogurt. And I started to make cheese. And vanilla. And we hardly ever buy spaghetti sauce; it tastes so much better homemade. Actually, we buy very few products that aren’t just the thing itself. Mixes don’t really have a place in my house. I even started to make my own laundry soap and shampoo. And I love it!

All of that to say that there is a lot to be said about homemade. It’s empowering somehow. Feels like I am taking my life into my own hands, away from the manufacturers that seek to fill me with inexpensive, fattening, bad-for-you junk. Makes me feel more in control. Capable. Productive. Self-sufficient. Even creative.

And it makes me feel like I am participating in the world in a positive way.  And alive. And that is healthy all the way.

So, I’d love to hear from you. Are you taking small or giant steps towards more control in what you eat and your home environment  Do you have wonderful homemade recipes to share with us from cleaning products to food items? Barb’s Fit U Community could become a cool source of information for all of us if we let it!

 

 

 

 

 

Comments on: "Homemade" (18)

  1. barbbaran said:

    Very interesting that you are making so many home products! I have a “recipe” for window cleaner that I use for a lot of things – cleaning windows, counter tops, spills, doggie accidents.

    Window Cleaner

    In a spray bottle, combine:
    2 cups water
    ½ cup rubbing alcohol
    2 tablespoons plain ammonia
    2 tablespoons white vinegar
    Shake well before using.

    I found this in the Indiana Gazette several years ago.

  2. Homemade has been on my mind lately, too! Aside from knowing what is in the food you are eating, I also want my boys to know how to make the food they like to eat. I don’t want them to grow up thinking meals come from a box or restaurant.

    Here’s my simple homemade fruit wash:

    Mix 1 part vinegar with 3 parts water in a spray bottle. Spray then leave on fruit for a minute before rinsing.

  3. Hi Barbara, I love cooking and baking from scratch. Currently I make my own facial scrub, tooth scrub, and body lotion. We can’t wait for the garden to be up and running, we have everything to make our own sauces, and more.

    Easy tooth scrub 1 tbsp Benonite clay, 1 tbsp baking soda, 3-4 drops of Thieves essential oil.

  4. You can read more about Benonite clay at the link below, plus she has her own recipe. You can also purchase some from this site.

    http://www.bulkherbstore.com/BCP

  5. Hi – I just found you via the Harvest Blog Hop, and I LOVE this! I make nearly all my food from scratch, save having canned soup on hand for those nights I don’t feel like cooking. I’ve also made a few scrubs/lotions, but haven’t gone so far as my own laundry detergent or shampoo… but who knows, I guess the possibilities are pretty endless! Besides feeling empowered and like I’m not at the mercy of every big-name manufacturer out there, making your own stuff can be really money saving. I’m a little sad when I think about how much people rely on pre-made meals, and never really learn to cook from scratch… it can make a world of difference! 🙂

  6. Hello I am your newest follower from the blog hop on your blog would love for you to follow me back. Thanks 🙂 Feel free to Like or Follow me on my other media sites!!!

    http://taracl2011.blogspot.com

    https://twitter.com/LiveLaughhLovee
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/LiveLaughLove/123392547737823
    http://www.networkedblogs.com/blog/taracl

  7. Hi Barbara, I’m Anne from Life on the Funny Farm (http://annesfunnyfarm.blogspot.com), and I’m visiting from the Farmgirl Friday Blog Hop.

    I’m with you! Whenever I make things from scratch, I feel so good about life in general. I’m hoping I can get more on top of things to carve out a little more time for it.

    Anyway, thanks for posting this. If you ever get a chance, stop over to my blog to say hi! Have a great day…

  8. […] week, I wrote about Homemade. Today, I’d love to talk to you about Home Remedies. Because in the olden days, whenever that […]

  9. […] know, I know, I keep talking about simple, natural things and you might get tired of hearing it. But the truth is, you can’t get away from how […]

  10. […] coconut oil 4  tablespoons xyletol–I guess you could use maple syrup as well. 1 tablespoon vanilla 1 tablespoon cinnamon For the topping: 1 cup slivered almonds 4 T shredded unsweetened coconut 2 […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

