Bringing Wellness Full Circle

So I’ll never be a Size 2

This is a very hard post to write. Because I have to be real down to my toes, and then some. But here is goes.

I lost 20 pounds and kept most of them off. I dared to face the lady in the mirror. I even smiled at her without cringing. I took hundreds of women with me on this journey, and we worked with each other, speaking truth to our spirits, minds and bodies, attending to this shell we live in, and now we all stand up a bit taller, more accepting of who we are, less degraded by the media. I ought to be pleased with myself. I know my stuff. I’m successful at it.

I said it at least a thousand times: “Don’t let the scale talk to you; it plays mind games with you, it seeks to poison the very core of you. It tells you lies about who you are, what matters, what your future is, where your beauty stands.” And we all agree.

Follow Me on Pinterest

And then, I step on the scale. And it feels like my world is coming to an end. I forget who I am. I forget what truly matters. I forget that I am uncommonly beautiful. Wonderfully becoming.

How can these three little numbers on the scale have such power on me? My feelings go on a roller coaster and I wind up sick to my stomach, and I throw up from the ride. I lose all common sense, and these numbers convince me that I have no hope and I might as well dive into those cookies I have not touched in two months and I don’t really like anyway. And while I eat those cookies I am not hungry for, I decide that I am going to lose these last few pounds once and for all, even if it kills me.

I have lost my mind.

And no matter how hard I try doing all the things that always worked before, the scale won’t budge for me. And I drive myself insane; I am the lady who teaches by example, you know. I not only talk the talk but I walk the walk. How am I supposed to continue if I myself can’t lose the weight?

And when the tears are gone and I lost all my anger, the answer comes in the quietness of my soul. I hear my very heart repeat it time and time again: I teach by example; I walk the walk. That’s what works. Real when things go well, real when things don’t go as I want. That’s real life with its pretenses peeled away. Humbling, nitty-gritty life. The kind of life where it might be necessary to put the scale in solitary confinement for a while so that I can work against the power of its numbers. The kind of life where I own to and accept gracefully the lady in the mirror, even when she doesn’t match up with the one in my head. The kind of life where I don’t give myself excuses, but I don’t lie to myself either, pretending that size is where my worth comes. The kind of life that fights against the incessant need to be admired. The kind of life that is fulfilled because of the here and now, and the God who sustains.

Wonderfully becoming. That’s what I am. May I continue to teach by example, aging gracefully without hiding. Ever.

Comments on: "So I’ll never be a Size 2" (7)

  1. […] that): this one has quite changed for me and I have decided to kick the scale for a while (read this blog post to know more).  Without the discipline of the scale, I found myself becoming less disciplined with […]

  2. […] but my thinking about myself has certainly improved and I am thankful for that.  You can read this blog post to know […]

  3. […] comes in all shapes and sizes. Smash your scale. This comes back to #3. If you don’t begin by accepting and loving yourself, your foundation […]

  4. […] I am so much more than numbers on a scale. […]

  5. […] it and continue on. Trust that your efforts will show eventually. Remember, that even when the scale doesn’t budge, your efforts are making a difference. So here’s the tip: try to focus on […]

  6. […] If you feel like a failure all the time, it’s almost inevitable that you will fail. Remember: what you look like is just one aspect of who you are.  Focus on the whole YOU, and not just what your body looks like; you surely are more than skin […]

  7. […] that much how many pounds you lose if you get to the place where you like what you see in the mirror and you feel better, right? But how do you make that happen? With performance […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

