Bringing Wellness Full Circle

After I made chickpea stew, I had lots of leftover chickpeas to use.  So, what better use that chocolate cake?  My friend Rebekah gave me this recipe, and it’s become one of my favorites!

Chickpea Chocolate Cake

1 1/2 c. chocolate chips ( I use the darkest ones I can find, 70% cocoa or more)

19 oz. chickpeas (garbanzo beans), rinsed and drained  (I cooked my own and used a generous 1 1/2 cups)

4 eggs (or  flax or banana, which makes it gooey-er)

a couple pinches of salt, bigger grains are best

1/4 c. raw sugar

1/2 t. baking powder

1 t. vanilla

Preheat the oven to 350. Grease and coat bottom of 9″round cake pan gently with cocoa powder.  Place the chocolate chips into a microwave-safe bowl. Cook in the microwave for about 2 minutes, stirring every 20 seconds after the first minute, until chocolate is melted and smooth.

Combine the beans and eggs in the bowl of a food processor or blender. Process until smooth. Add the salt, sugar baking powder, and vanilla, and pulse to blend. Pour in the melted chocolate and blend until smooth, scraping down the corners to make sure chocolate is completely mixed. Transfer the batter to the prepared cake pan.

Bake for 40 minutes in the preheated oven, or until a knife inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Cool in the pan on a wire rack for 10-15 minutes before inverting onto a serving plate.

To serve, top with fruit or make chocolate glaze with 3/4 c. semisweet chocolate chips, 3 T butter, 1 T honey and 1/4 t. vanilla: In a microwavable bowl, combine chocolate chips, butter, and sweetener and heat at 20% power for 2-4 minutes, stirring every 30 seconds. Stir until chips are melted and mixture is smooth, then add vanilla. Spread warm glaze over top of cake, letting it drizzle down the sides.

I simply whipped some heavy cream and enjoyed it that way!

Comments on: "Chickpea Chocolate Cake" (7)

  1. I’be been waiting for you to post this. I can’t wait to try it. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!

  2. I am going to try this. Our family was just talking about black bean brownies this evening. My family members aren’t convinced that they are actually good. We’ll see how they like chickpea chocolate cake, and I’ll let you know. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Barbara,
    I see you have wonderful healthy things to share here! You are a versatile blogger 😉 Would you consider linking up your healthy recipes on Wednesdays at the ‘EOA’ link-up? I have seen and tasted a chickpea cake and wondered about making one! Thanks!

  4. I amazed by this recipe! Who knew that chickpeas could be used for anything other than hummus! this is an eye-opener for me! I HAVE to try this! Thank you for sharing on NOBH.

  5. […] that satisfy in a healthy way.  Here is the latest for when you want something smooth, rich and chocolaty.  And please don’t dismiss it if you think you don’t like avocados–in this […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

