Bringing Wellness Full Circle

D.I.Y. Laundry Soap

Note: I use Fels-Naptha bar soap, but you can use Ivory, Sunlight, Dr. Bronner’s castile soap bar, Kirk’s HardwaterCastile or Zote bars.  In Indiana, PA, Washing Soda and Borax can be found in Walmart  in the laundry aisle.  I only found Fels-Naphta at Martin’s.

The last time I made this recipe, it cost me about $3 for 5 gallons.  I make it about twice a year (2 people living in my home); the process takes less than 30 minutes.

Homemade Laundry Soap- Front or Top Load Machines

Buy one time: a 5 gallon bucket (I got mine from a grocery store bakety

Buy each time:

4  Fels-Naptha soap bar
4  cup Washing Soda
4 cup Borax

– Grate bar of soap (I use my food processor).

-Fill a 5 gallon bucket half full of hot tap water.  Add melted soap, washing soda and Borax.  Stir well until all powder is dissolved.  Fill bucket to top with more hot water.  Stir, cover and let sit overnight to thicken.  After it sets over night, I actually get in there with both hands and break up the “jello” (it actually feels like jello) until it feels loose.

I start my laundry with HOT water, put the soap in and mix it around…it helps dissolve it….then I start adding my clothes….and once I have about an inch or two of hot water in my machine, I switch to cold water.  Other people I know start with cold water and it’s all good.

Optional:  You can add 10-15 drops of essential oil once the laundry soap has cooled. Great ones might be lavender, rosemary, tea tree oil.

-Top/Front Load Machine- approx. 1 cup per load; my water is very soft and I only use about 3/4 cup for a full load.

Note:  This detergent does NOT suds….so don’t expect any.  

You can pretreat the stains with some of this detergent prior to washing garments.

Linking up with Rediscovering Domesticity and Feminine Adventure

Comments on: "D.I.Y. Laundry Soap" (6)

  1. If you were using dr bronners soap, how much would you use? Does it have to be the bar soap or would his liquid soap work? I use his liquid soap for just about everything- as i am allergic to many many chemicals

  2. oops sorry, I see where it says dr bronners bar soap

  3. Thanks for the recipe! I want to try this with the oils!

    Thanks for sharing! –Katie

  4. […] the thing itself. Mixes don’t really have a place in my house. I even started to make my own laundry soap and shampoo. And I love […]

  5. […] and keeps them protected from the weather and animals, kill the fowl, grind the wheat, beat the laundry, […]

  6. […] eggs, cooked with fresh farm eggs, marveled at the beauty of fresh farm eggs, did lots of laundry, made laundry soap, got some cool new shutters for my bathroom, was filled with pride when I considered my […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

